Govt. Edward College, Pabna


    Radhanagar, Pabna-6600


শিক্ষা নিয়ে গড়ব দেশ শেখ হাসিনার বাংলাদেশ

Welcome to Department of Physics

Department Head's Message


Associate Professor
(Head of the Department)
Joining - 08-12-1996

EDWARD COLLEGE : THE DEPARTMENT OF PHYSICS Md. Lutfor Rahman Head, Department of Physics Govt. Edward College, Pabna. There were only eight colleges in Bengal under the British rules up to 1900. Edward college was one of them. It was established in 1898 on the bank of the Isamoti river at Pabna. Now-a-days it is one of the oldest educational institutions in Bangladesh. Edward College has produced many scholars like Charu Majumder ( Revolutionist ), Md. Hossain Ali ( Former Deputy High Commisioner in Calcutta in1971), Kamal Lohani ( Tv proposer ), Dr. Aurun Kumer Basak, Poet Omar Ali, Captain M. Manshur Ali (Former Prime Minister), Professor Abu Sayed Chowdhaury ( Former Minister ), Tipu Biswash, Mohammad Nasim ( Health Minister ), Md, Fazlur Rahman Patol ( Former State Minister ), Abu Hena ( Former C.E.C ), H.T Imam and many others. The Department of Physics has always been one of the prominent department in the history of Edward College. This department started its activities in 1921 when Edward College was upgraded up to Intermediate Science Standard College under the affiliation of Calcutta University. The founder Head of this department was Sree Makhan Lal Chakrabarty. He was well-educated and sucessful teacher in the history of Physics department. In 1925 B.Sc (pass) course was opened under the same affiliation. After the liberation war, B.Sc(Hons) course in Physics was started in 1972 under Rajshahi University. It is notable that an eminent physicist Dr. Azizul Haque served as faculty member deserving the status as Head of the department during that time. He has many research papers and international publications on renewable energy & solar cell. According to source available, there were only 5 students in the first batch honours course. But the number of students is increasing every year and presently 170 students are enrolled in each session under National University. Students enrolled in the first batch of M.Sc final year in 1995. Now there are about 70 student in M.Sc course in current session. At present, total students of this department are nearly 700. From the beginning of the department many famous personalities worked as teachers in this department. Of who some notables are Amendranath Banarji, Birendra Kumer Chakrabarty, Bibhutivusan Rai, Suboth Chandra Chakrabarty , Khirod Gopal Majumder, Sree Muktipada Chowdhaury, A. Malek, Abul Hossain, Md. Nurul Haque, Abdul Kader, Dr. Subhash Kumer Mittra, Dr. Hafizur Rahman and Jahar Lal Basak, Dr. Ali Reza. The Department of Physics is located at the west corner in the science campus and north side of the main gate of this college. It is one-storyed building. It has three class rooms (2 Gallery & 1 Genaral), three laboratories, one dark- room, one seminar library, one office-room and one store-room. The laboratories are well-equiped. There are many instruments for demonstration in the class. We can make easily a Physics Museum with the old instruments of this department. In the seminar library, almost 2 thousand books are there. Students can study or borrow books from the seminar library. In the past, many students came to this college to study science from West Bengal, Tripura, Asam, sylhet, chittagong and other places. Today we can write or say about this department or college for a benevolent personality whose name is Sree Gopal Chandra Lahiri, the founder of Edward College. We pay our homage to him from our core of heart. Current Teachers of this Department : 01. Md. Lutfor Rahman, Associate Professor 02. Md. Abdullah-Al-Mamun, Associate Professor 03. Md. Joinal Abadin, Associate Professor 04. Md. Dil Afroza, Assistant Professor 05. Md. Saiful Islam, Assistant Professor 06. Md. Shams-ul Alam, Assistant Professor 07. Shaikh Shorifur Rahman, Assistant Professor 08. Md.Sadeq , Lecturer 09. Md. Shohel Rana , Lecturer 10. Md. Aminul Haque, Demonstrator Current Office Staffs : 01. Md. Abdul Latif 02. Most. Shamali Khatun 03. Irin

Former Head of the Department

SL Name Designation Job Tenure Remark
From To

Former Teacher Of The Department

SL Name Designation Job Tenure Remark
From To

Our Gallery